Our Democratic Process

Redbridge Young Labour is run by young members, for young members. Each year, Redbridge Young Labour hold an annual general meeting to elect the committee of young members who are responsible for the day-to-day running of the group. All members are invited to attend and each have an equal vote.

Meet the Executive Committee

Redbridge Young Labour's Executive Committee has twelve members who were elected in December 2017

Alex Holmes

Alex Holmes


Liam Martin Lane

Liam Martin-Lane


Vanisha Solanki

Vanisha Solanki

Vice Chair

Joanne Yuen

Women's Officer

Sam Baker

Events Officer

Aimina Hussain

Campaigns Officer

Nabhan Malik

BAME Officer

Zaynah Chaudhry

Under 19's Officer

Daniel Morgan-Thomas

LGBT Officer

Meet our Councillors

Redbridge Young Labour has successfully organised to help several young Labour members get elected as Councillors. Redbridge has five Labour Councillors who are under 30 years old.


Daniel Morgan-Thomas

Councillor for Wanstead Village

Vanisha Solanki

Vanisha Solanki

Councillor for Fullwell

Farah Hussain

Councillor Farah Hussain

Cabinet Member for Housing

Khayer Chowdhury

Councillor Khayer Chowdhury

Councillor for Valentines


Hannah Chaudhry

Councillor for Chadwell

Meet our honorary president


Councillor Judith Garfield MBE

Honorary President for 2019

Each year, Redbridge Young Labour select an outstanding Labour politician to represent the movement as it's Honorary President.

For 2019, Redbridge Young Labour selected Councillor Judith Garfield MBE.

A distinguished local Labour Councillor, with a strong record of public service, Judith has served two terms as a Councillor in Newham and is currently Labour Party Group Chair and a Councillor in Barkingside, Redbridge

As director of Eastside Community Heritage, Judith secured £1,500,000+ funding for community led projects in east London.

It is for her dedication to the aims of Redbridge Young Labour and the wider Young Labour movement, that we selected her to serve as our Honorary President for 2019.

All images public domain unless otherwise stated